APRIL 2017

Dr. Mary Rezac


Mary Rezac brings a strong background in sustainable energy and land-grant university leadership to WSU as the new Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture.

Rezac will join WSU on July 1, and succeed Interim Dean Don Bender, who assumed the leadership position in August of 2016.

Rezac is currently the Tim Taylor Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of Major Grant Initiatives within the College of Engineering at Kansas State University, where she’s been a faculty member since 2002. Rezac was an Associate Professor of chemical engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology from 1998 to 2002.

Read more about Rezac and her outlook on leading the VCEA.


President Schulz and Provost Bernardo congratulate Dr. Kelvin Lynn


The University community took time to honor some of its best and brightest during the Showcase Celebrating Excellence Banquet on March 31.

Kelvin Lynn, a Regents Professor and Director for the Center for Materials Research, is the 17th recipient of the Eminent Faculty Award — WSU’s highest faculty honor. The award was created in 2000 to honor those who have changed the thinking in their fields through research, creative scholarship, teaching, and service. Lynn is a pioneer in using positron beams to measure material properties, and an international leader in low energy antimatter research and crystal growth.

Nancy Magnuson, Emeritus Professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences, was honored with the Lane V. Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service. Magnuson spent her entire career as a Professor at WSU, after earning her Ph.D. in Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology from WSU in 1978. She was a leader in the research community and made major contributions to advancing and retaining women at the University.

The rest of the award winners included:

  • Xiaopeng Bi, President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty
  • Debbie Brinker, President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty
  • Douglas Call, Distinguished Faculty Address and Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Research, Scholarship, and Arts
  • Kerry Hipps, Regents Professor
  • Debbie Lee, Regents Professor
  • Julie Kmec, Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Instruction
  • Paul Kwon, Faculty Diversity Award
  • Craig Parks, Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Leadership
  • Douglas Walsh, Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Outreach and Engagement

Read more about Showcase and our faculty award recipients.


Please make plans to join us to celebrate Fran McSweeney’s distinguished career and service to WSU. McSweeney, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Regents Professor in the Department of Psychology, joined WSU in 1974. She has received numerous awards for her teaching and scholarship, and is best known for her fundamental work on behavior and reinforcement. A celebration of McSweeney’s retirement will be held Friday, April 28 at 5 p.m. at the Lewis Alumni Centre.



Faculty and staff from across WSU are invited to submit proposals for Student Success Seed Grants. The Office of the Provost and the Division of Student Affairs are welcoming proposals for awards up to $25,000. The projects are designed to support the development, replication, and dissemination of innovative solutions that address widespread challenges in postsecondary education for students at risk of not completing an undergraduate degree.

Read more about the Student Success Seed Grants.


Jennifer Robinson will discuss Team Based Learning at the final Faculty-Led Workshop of the academic year on April 13.

Robinson, a Clinical Associate Professor in the College of Pharmacy, was one of 30 educators nationwide selected for the 2016–17 Academic Leadership Fellows Program of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

She will lead the workshop at noon on April 13 in CUE 518. The event is also available via AMS. Sign up online.


The Business Growth Mentor and Analysis Program (MAP) at WSU Vancouver was one of 35 programs selected from 315 submissions from 33 countries by AACSB in its Innovations That Inspire initiative. The program focuses on pro-bono, student-conducted business analysis and consultation to promote small business success, while giving students a chance to solve real business issues. MAP is a fine example of a program providing a truly transformative experience for students in the Carson College of Business.

Nam Nguyen, a sophomore in the Honors College, was one of just 50 students nationwide to receive a grant from the Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE). The grant allowed him to study abroad at the CIEE Global Institute in Rome, Berlin, and London during the fall of 2016.

WSU’s new Spark program is seeking to spur interest among high school students in agricultural careers, where vacancies far outnumber applicants. The Spark program is taking feedback from companies and farms in the region and applying it to the program, which engages high school students through events and connections with industry professionals. Kari Sampson, Assistant Director of Recruitment and Retention in the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences is leading the effort, which is already proving fruitful.

Washington State University