Enjoy the January 2018 issue of Provost Perspective

January 2018

Provost Perspective

New CAHNRS Dean, André-Denis Girard Wright

Wright to lead CAHNRS as dean

André-Denis Girard Wright, an internationally recognized researcher and director of the School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences at the University of Arizona (UA), has been named dean of the Washington State University College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences (CAHNRS).


LIFT Fellows launching second cohort

The inaugural cohort of LIFT (Learn. Inspire. Foster. Transform.) Faculty Fellows gained skills and techniques to transform their classrooms. Faculty from across the WSU system are invited to apply for the second cohort. A panel session with LIFT Fellows on January 23 will reveal more about the innovative professional development program.

Read more

Teaching grants available for faculty

Instructors are invited to apply for any of several teaching grants available through the Office of the Provost and other internal funding sources. Among others, the Office of Academic Outreach and Innovation offers the Oaks Academic Technology Award, for which applications are due February 1.

Read more

Link Up

College Highlights

Louise Kaplan is helping nurse practitioners fulfill a need for nurses in Swaziland. An associate professor in the College of Nursing, Kaplan is working with community members and stakeholders to set up clinical experiences for FNP students at the University of Swaziland.

The National Academy of Inventors recognized Susmita Bose as a fellow last month. Bose, the Herman and Brita Lindholm Endowed Chair and professor in the School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, was honored for her innovative research in the use of technology to improve health.

John Peters was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The director of WSU’s Institute of Biological Chemistry, Peters was recognized by his peers for his, “distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications.”

Washington State University