Enjoy the October 2018 issue of Provost Perspective - Oforlea wins prestigious book award; Strategic Plan timeline takes shape; Faculty share early intervention tips; Provost Leadership Academy Profile: Mark Beattie

October 2018

Provost Perspective

Aaron Oforlea holds the CLA's Creative Scholarship Award.

Oforlea wins prestigious
book award

English faculty member Aaron Oforlea was pleasantly surprised at the acclaim his debut book received. The College Language Association recognized Oforlea’s James Baldwin, Toni Morrison and the Rhetorics of Black Male Subjectivity with the Creative Scholarship Award, and he joined a group of previous winners that includes scholars from the Ivy League and Stanford.


Strategic Plan timeline takes shape

The University is in the planning stages of preparing its next strategic plan, driven by the vision of securing WSU’s place as one of the nation’s top 25 public research universities by 2030. The current strategic plan runs through 2019 and WSU is making excellent progress in many areas of measure. The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities granted WSU an extension on its current plan to fall 2020.

Read more

Faculty share early intervention tips

Faculty from WSU shared their best practices for early interventions to promote student success during a series of focus groups earlier this year. Studies have shown that students who receive early progress updates succeed at a higher rate than students who do not receive early updates, and WSU aims to provide faculty tools and resources to enable early interventions for students.

Read more

Provost Leadership Academy Profile: Mark Beattie

Like most Cougars, Mark Beattie can truly appreciate Andy Grammer’s hit song that echoes through Martin Stadium on football game days. “And no matter where we go, we always find our way back home,” the chorus hums. Beattie found his way back to WSU and he’s now helping foster a new generation of Cougs at WSU Everett.

Read more

Link Up

College Highlights

The American Psychological Association (APA) named David Marcus as Group Psychologist of the Year in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the understanding of how people behave within the groups to which they belong. The award was given by the APA’s Society of Group Psychology and Group Psychotherapy. Marcus has been a WSU faculty member since 2011 and serves as the chair of the Department of Psychology.

Susan Finley was recognized with the Ormsby Award for Faculty Citizenship for her exceptional engagement in the Vancouver community. A professor in the College of Education at WSU Vancouver, Finley’s teaching and research has focused on community engagement, primarily through the At Home At School program she developed at WSU Vancouver in 2002 and continues to direct as part of her scholarly and service efforts. Since 2002, more than 2,500 local students have participated in the program.

Murrow College of Communication faculty members Lisa Waananen Jones and Benjamin Shors are leading the Rural Journalism Plunge. They are advising 50 student journalists as they travel to rural communities in eastern Washington and northern Idaho to conduct community-guided rural reporting. The ongoing project is part of a rural reporting initiative in partnership with Northwest Public Broadcasting and aims to improve rural news coverage and immersive student learning.

Office of the Provost, Washington State University
PO Box 641046, Pullman, WA 99164‑1046, provosts.office@wsu.edu