Enjoy the December 2018 issue of Provost Perspective: Featured Faculty take the field; MLK Program welcomes Ibram X. Kendi; Three WSU faculty members named AAAS Fellows; WSU Showcase shines spotlight on research

December 2018

Provost Perspective

Various photos of Provost Bernardo and featured faculty members.

Featured Faculty take the field

The provost had the pleasure of hosting 13 faculty members at Martin Stadium for WSU football games throughout the fall. The featured faculty members were honored in front of the Cougar fans for their exemplary work throughout their perspective careers on behalf of our students. Thank you and happy holidays to all of our faculty who truly deliver on our land‑grant mission.


MLK Program welcomes Ibram X. Kendi

The 32nd annual Martin Luther King Program will continue its outstanding tradition in January, welcoming renowned scholar and author Ibram X. Kendi to deliver the keynote address. Kendi will speak in the CUB Sr. Ballroom on January 17 at 7 p.m., highlighting a week of events surrounding the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.

Read more

Three WSU faculty members named AAAS Fellows

Monica Kirkpatrick Johnson, Kathryn Meier, and Glenn Prestwich were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Kirkpatrick Johnson is a professor and chair of the Department of Sociology. Meier is professor and associate dean for faculty and student development in the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Prestwich is the President’s Distinguished Professor at WSU Health Sciences Spokane. The 3 WSU honorees are among 416 members who will be honored at the February 16 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Read more

WSU Showcase shines spotlight on research

Faculty, staff, and students at all levels are invited to join WSU’s annual celebration of research and creative activities at Showcase. Deadlines for faculty and graduate student abstracts are approaching in January, and undergraduates must submit their abstracts in February. Showcase kicks off March 25 and concludes on March 29 with the Celebrating Excellence Banquet.

Read more

Link Up

College Highlights

Joy Egbert, professor in the College of Education, is headed to Macedonia in March after receiving a Fulbright Specialist Award from the U.S. Department of State. Egbert will visit Saints Cyril and Methodius University of Skopje to share her research on teaching and English, facilitate workshops, and speak at the university’s international English studies conference.

Lori Carris, professor and chair of the Department of Plant Pathology, was named a fellow of the Mycological Society of America. She was one of just three scientists worldwide to receive the honor, which recognizes outstanding members of the society for extended service and contributions to mycology (the study of fungi) in teaching and research.

Cheryl Schultz, associate professor in the College of Arts and Sciences at WSU Vancouver, was awarded the 2018 Project of the Year from the U.S. Department of Defense’s Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program. Schultz’s project was titled, “Endangered Butterflies as a Model System for Managing Source‑Sink Dynamics on Department of Defense Lands.”

Office of the Provost, Washington State University
PO Box 641046, Pullman, WA 99164‑1046, provosts.office@wsu.edu